Fear Less

29 Mar

Lizz Wright- Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly (music video. no clue why i can’t get the image on this page. but, enjoy it and i hope it inspires you like it does me.)

In need of inspiration on how to live my daily life in a way that brings me closer to my true self, I decided to read a book titled, The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma. Some of you may have noticed that I have quoted this book numerous times the past month via facebook updates. Given that I really am too tired to write a synopsis on this book or to unveil the numerous tools offered within the text, tonight, I wanted to share one key tool.

In the book, Sharma advices that we have a DEATH BED MENTALITY, meaning that we live each day as it were our last. What would be your mood if u knew today would be your last day? How would you treat people? What would you do? Etc.

Every morning, when I wake up, I ask myself, what would I do today if it were my last? Often I visualize myself not being afraid of anything. I see myself letting go of any anger, pain, frustration, and/or stress that may reside within me. Then, I welcome in joy and love.  I think about the people I love and I become overwhelmed with gratitude because I know that I have been blessed with beautiful people and bountiful relationships within my life thus far. I imagine my day to be beautiful and full of laughter and lightheartedness.

To think about each day as if it were my last is quite humbling. It is also a reality check, because I know that today could quite possibly be the day I take my last breath in the physical realm.

For those of us who want to live a life where freedom of soul and mind exist, I believe we must first free ourselves from fear. Fear is useless and inhibits us from experiencing life at it’s greatest potential.

As Audre Lorde once said, “I AM DELIBERATE & AFRAID OF NOTHING”. Tonight I make a promise to myself to take these words and use them as my mantra for living a purposeful life where fear is not an obstacle to experiencing life.

3 Responses to “Fear Less”

  1. bnOwie April 3, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    your positivity in your life really touches me .. how you live your life: free spirit yet grounded in foundations of beauty truly truly inspire me ..thank you for reminding me of thankfulness, release, and courage 🙂

    this post was a great start to the day =)

  2. loralei rose bingamon April 4, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    thanks bien. i love you. we all inspire each other. 🙂

  3. isanghamahal April 4, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    hello heARTista

    i have been reading this book here
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/091581109X/ref=olp_product_details?ie=UTF8&me=&seller=

    and found chapter 4 “magnetizing” somehow echoing back and saying, “this kinda sounds like a soul collage thing!”

    are you familiar with this book? chapter 4, and i’m sure others, might be worth checking out 🙂

    …friend, will you be at the upcoming babaylan gathering at sonoma state? i’m hoping to make it up for a day — maybe i’ll run into you there planting your wholesome, artful seeds!

    may all be well…

Leave a Reply

