I Believe in Magic

9 Mar

” And when you have the courage to advance confidently in the direction of you dreams, you begin to draw upon the power of the universe…life gives you what you ask of it. It is always listening.”

” Do the right things. Act in a way which is congruent with your true character. Act with integrity. Be guided by your heart. The rest will take care of itself.”

[excerpts from The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin S. Sharma]

Sometimes, I get so caught up in the things I want verses the things I already have. I have wonderful friends, a good family, a roof over my head, a job, a college education, I live in a safe neighborhood, have reliable transportation, I never have to go hungry. All of these are blessings and privileges I often take for granted. When I complain about not having enough money, not having this and that a loss of soul often occurs within me. In my quiet contemplation, I realize that when I don’t take time to appreciate all that I do have and instead concentrate on what I don’t have, life becomes empty. I become empty.

The past few months I have been working as a file clerk. I never have time to sit down and rest. I drown in a library of files for 5 -6 hours a day. To some, this might seem like a grueling job. At times, I admit I feel I am not executing my life’s potential in this file room. However, in these 5-6 hours I get to reflect on life. I think about who I am. Who I want to be. I ponder how I will get there. I practice acts of gratitude. This job, which on the outside seems like crap to some, has actually been a blessing to me. It  has allowed me the time for much needed personal reflection.

So, what is my point? I guess what I am trying to get at is OUR THOUGHTS GUIDE THE EXPERIENCES OF OUR LIVES. If I focus on what I don’t have, I will continue to be unhappy and unfulfilled. If I saw my job as menial labor and refused to look at it as a chance for personal reflection, I would have missed out on the opportunity for transformation that I feel has come to me undercover.

I believe in the MAGIC of LIFE. Yes, it is not easy to see the positive side of all situations presented, but I give it my all to do so.

Let us all look for the MAGIC in our LIVES and believe that it can be. I promise life will be much sweeter.

MAGIC by AMEL LARRIEUX

The Stress Level’s High
And The Moral’s Low
And When It’s Lookin’ Like It’s About To Blow
Your Mind To The Moon
Stop What You’re Doin’
Tap Into Your…

[Chorus:]
Magic
Feels Good Soon As You Add It
If You Forget You Had It
Well, It’s Right Where You At Kid
Reach Into You And Drag It Out
I’m Talkin’ Bout That Magic
However You Can, You Must Grab It
Jump, Sit, Sing, Laugh It’s
Magic

See live video by Amel Larrieux below

One Response to “I Believe in Magic”

  1. kit March 26, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    i loved reading this. thanks for sharing, lo

Leave a Reply

