We Can Be New

8 Nov

“Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.”

http://www.youtube.com/v/HTFrSUvFlQ0?fs=1&hl=en_US
“We Can Be New” by Amel Larrieux

It is crazy how the universe knows exactly what you need and gives it to you just at the right time. Last Wednesday, I arrived at work at 8am only to be walking out the door and straight home at 8:15am. I was told that my position was no longer effective as of that particular morning. I don’t know how my colleagues reacted when they got laid off earlier that week, but in all honesty, I was rather ecstatic about it. See, for 11 months I went to work day in and day out, feeling like a robot. (I attribute this to the fact that my sole purpose was to file papers for 8 hours a day with little human interaction.) My life felt routine. I wanted to escape the monotony. I wanted my body to be free to move however it wanted once again.

Although I am worried about how I am going to pay my bills, etc. I take whatever life gives me as a sign that I need to be moving in a certain direction. With this layoff, I know I am being guided to something bigger, something better, something where all my talents and skills can be put to use for the good of the community. The universe did it’s part to set me free. Now, it is just up to me to put in the effort into making things happen.

What is next? I am not too sure. But I know that I am gonna do my best to make sure that I stay true to myself and that I follow my heart. Hopefully the universe will take me somewhere where art, social justice, community, and joy surround me in a way I have not yet known.

2 Responses to “We Can Be New”

  1. Lydia Cabasco November 8, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Happy freedom, Loralei! The same thing happened to me last year. I was having fantasies of telling my manager to piss off and then I got laid off. It opened up a lot for me and I’m still learning. Does this mean that your schedule is opened up and we can finally connect by phone?

  2. kit November 8, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    love.

Leave a Reply

