remembering joy de la cruz

5 Oct


joy de la cruz

joy de la cruz

today was the 6 year death anniversary of a dear sister-friend, joy de la cruz. being so, i found myself drenched in thoughts & emotions about joy, love, life & death. reflecting on the many lessons i have learned from joy’s passing, i recall how immensely i have grown and changed since that one evening in october.

tonight i sat at the dinner table with old ucsd friends. we talked and reminisced about joy. we shared stories about her zany and random tendencies (like how she once slept on top of a denny’s. wtf, i know. i don’t believe it myself.) yet although we pretty much agreed that she was a crazy one, we also agreed that her complicatedly contradictory self is what we loved about her.

referred to as the “fairy god-mother of student activism,” tonight i giggled to myself because it was just so true. she was involved in every movement at ucsd. joy was one of those rare individuals who was all over the place and u just couldn’t figure out how she got around (cuz she had no car) or where she got her energy from (she seemed to always be partying or working, but never sleeping). as much as i tried, i could never quite understand her. but i admired her none-the-less.

so how have i changed since 2003? in too many ways…the reason i always talk about living life in the moment and in true joy is because of the impact joy de la cruz had on my life. if it wasn’t for her, i don’t think i would be this involved in putting my art out into the community. if it wasn’t for her, i don’t think i would be out engaging with people the way i do, trying to understand the heart and passions of those i interact with. because of joy i never want to take a moment or any person for granted. i try to live as honestly and vivaciously as i can.

never take a moment or a breath for granted.u never know when it could be your last.

be true to yourself.

live with no regrets.

live life in love and in community.

don’t postpone joy

…these are the lessons that i’ll never forget from my dear sister-friend.

thank you, joy.

143

2 Responses to “remembering joy de la cruz”

  1. Kirk May 1, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    I was just thinking about Joy as another friend from UCSD recently passed away. I did a search and found this. Thank you for this post.

  2. Ligaya October 5, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Elaine JOY – my daugther, my friend, my love, my life. My NEED to see your face, to hear you laugh, to touch and embrace you does not deminish with time as well meaning people have told me will happen as years go by. At times I wish for this to be true for the ache is excruciating. I am learning that your physical absence is something that must be accepted to live a life with substance.

    To your friends, I am THANKFUL for their love and kindness. It’s good to know that you had these beautiful people in you life and for that I will be forever grateful.

    Lorelei, know that I am thinking of you and praying that memories of your MOM will help and sustain you during the difficult times ahead.

    Ligaya

Leave a Reply

