life. make it count

21 Aug

“make it count.” this saying first came into existence in november 2008 when my girlfriends and i had a getaway/ reunion in vegas. my homegirl, kat and i came through to the event with less than 24 hours to spare so we knew we had to make the most of it. hence, the catchy phrase “make it count!” was born and has been flying off the tip of my tongue ever since.

the other day i showed up at my former work place, the public allies office in los angeles. when i got there, my x-co-worker carlos said to me, ” you look happy.” now, normally i would expect someone to  simply say, “thank you!” in response to a statement like this. but, because i am me, i said thank you, yet at the same time my internal monologue sounded something like, ” really? daymn, did i use to look sad when i worked here?”….

when carlos told me that i looked happy, i began to reflect on all the experiences and decisions i have made since i left public allies one year ago that have lead me to my current state. it wasn’t that i was not happy before. it is just that now i am doing all the things i want to do and i have come to the realization that I AM IN CONTROL OF MY LIFE AND MY HAPPINESS. in order to be happy in this present moment, i had to examine what it is i truly want in this life.  my conclusion was that I want my life to be filled with love and joy.

 in order to achieve the states of love and joy that i longed for, i knew i had to reprioritize my life. i decided to get out and be with people more often. i allowed myself the freedom to say that it is ok for me to not settle in to a 9-5, but to go after my dream of building a life out of spreading art into the community and finding alternative ways of getting the means ($$) to support myself. i had to let go of the idea that by the age of 26 i was suppose to be living on my own with a stable job…all this wasn’t easy. but it’s been the best decision i have made.

although i feel the road ahead is not so clear for me, i feel i am actually living life, not just letting life pass me by.

everyday i wake up and tell myself to MAKE TODAY COUNT.

whatever “make it count” means to you, just do it.

live life with no regrets.

 seize the moment.

be-at the beat.

let me leave you with a few songs to take you through the day and inspire you…

“we can be new” by amel larrieux

“live your life” by rihanna & TI

6 Responses to “life. make it count”

  1. super.nintendo August 21, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    i love this lalie. i will MAKE IT COUNT every day.

  2. aimeesantos August 21, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    i’m at a point in my life where i’m making decisions that will affect the next 3 years. i’m doing things a little different from my peers, and sometimes that gives me such anxiety… but i’d have it no other way. i’m proud of you lalie! and def will think of you and this phrase when i need motivation! 🙂

    • loralei rose bingamon September 14, 2009 at 6:47 am #

      🙂 love u.

  3. jake August 29, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    Hey L,
    Beautiful post.
    – J

    • loralei rose bingamon September 14, 2009 at 6:47 am #

      thank u. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We Make it… « My Mellow My Muse - September 17, 2009

    […] my life’s shuffle it fell into the archives. My friend Loralei has a simalar saying, “Make it count,” and I believe the two go hand in hand. Make it happen, then make it […]

Leave a Reply

