hope & happenstance

3 Aug

hope is a belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in ones life. hope is the feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best. [1] hopefulness is somewhat different from optimism in that hope is an emotional state, whereas optimism is a conclusion reached through a deliberate thought pattern that leads to a positive attitude.

———-

for the past month or so, i have been taking time out to examine my thoughts and feelings on life & living in order to better understand who i am and who i want to become. for those of you who know me, i have always been into contemplating the deeper meaning of life and happenstance. at times, i have been critiqued for thinking too much. sometimes, i frustrate myself because i do. but i would never change this about myself, because it is in thinking deeply and reflecting upon how the pieces of life’s puzzle fit together that i find the greater meaning in my life.

one thing i have learned in this past month is that hope is crucial to getting where u want to be. without hope how can one move forward in life? we all hope for certain things, but how can we understand hope in a more intimate way? how can we connect with hope at the center of our being? i don’t have the answers. i am still searching. but as i search, i try to practice engaging with what i think hope feels like emotionally and then i attempt to hold that feeling in the core of my being while focusing on whom or what i am hopeful for. it may sound crazy, but i guess u gotta try it to understand.

back in 2003, when i lived in mira mesa/ san diego area, at a time in my life when i was again searching deeply, i would notice that pink flowers were blooming in my front yard. i took these pink flowers as a sign/ symbol from the universe that i should continue to think positively and trust that everything would be taken care of. given that pink roses represent joy, happiness and love, when i started noticing all the pink roses and flowers in my neighborhood and everywhere that went, i felt that it was a sign i was being taken care of and that i should just remain hopeful for my future. everytime i would see a pink flower, especially a rose, it was as though i was being told to TRUST in life’s process.

in these days where i have chosen to pursue a path that has no guarantees (if you’re wondering, i have decided not to go to school to get my MSW, but to pursue my passion for art), i have noticed the resurgence of these pink flowers all around me and i am reminded that i am not alone. i feel the universe guiding me and directing my heart to its truth.

some people stay focused on reality and consistently point out “what-is”. although i see the point of this, we cannot stay fixed upon what-is. we must look beyond and have a vision of something different and something more in order to create a change in our lives. to stay focused upon what-is does not leave room for what-can-be.  let us move towards a time where we have an emotional vision of what we want our lives to be so that we can attract it and achieve it.

2 Responses to “hope & happenstance”

  1. Terry August 10, 2009 at 2:42 am #

    Heh.

    I think it was around the time (or maybe during/right after) when I attended your workshop @ the Cross.

    I wrote down “HOPE” in my sketch book, and connected to the word were stuffs/people/momentias that gave me HOPE.

    .:.

    The other day, I told a friend this, with the afterword, “Yeah it didn’t really work out for me.”

    “Nothing negative”, I thought at the time, “just wasn’t the word I was looking for.”

    I guess to an extent, I still believe that.

    But I really-ize now that HOPE wasn’t what I was looking for,

    It’s what has been working for me.

    Hmm…

    PS: Thanks. Again and again and again!

    PPS: I still have that collage in my file folder of life todos… oh, Art, you fleeting muse.

    • loralei rose bingamon August 13, 2009 at 7:42 am #

      terry,

      “you da, you da, best, ” lol. thank you for sharing and i should be thanking you again and again and again…just because u are you and u make me happy. 🙂

      i like how you say hope has been working for you. hmmm..can u explain that more?

      send me a pix of ur collage!

      love you, friend!

Leave a Reply

