no day but today

25 Mar

So, I have no idea why this song is stuck in my head. Pretty much BEP’s “Boom, Boom, Pow” & Jamie Fox’s “Blame it on the Alcohol” are the club bangers which have been rockin my brain over the past few days. But, when I decided to sit down and FINALLY write another entry in this thing, this song from the ever so popular ( or not popular, depeding on your taste), RENT suddently found its way into the air waves of my brain. So, for all you RENT lovers, I have posted a link to the movie version and also posted the lyrics below. Enjoy!

The heart may freeze or it can burn
The pain will ease if I can learn

There is no future
There is no past
Thank God this moment’s not the last

There’s only us
There’s only this
Forget regret– or life is yours to miss.
No other road
No other way
No day but today

There’s only yes
Only tonight
We must let go
To know what is alright
No other course
No other way
No day but today

I can’t control
My destiny
I trust my soul
My only hope
is just to be

There’s only now
There’s only here
Give in to love
Or live in fear
No other path
No other way
No day but today

Oh, and a few more thoughts…
Maybe this song randomly popped in my mind cuz I needed it.I mean, who doesn’t need to be reminded every
now and then that we gotta live in the moment and that we gotta live for today?
Gosh, who knew RENT could be so profound? “Give in to love or live in fear,” now that is deep and real.
I think we all gotta try to do this cuz unconditional love, when practiced correctly can
can ulimately change this world. And when I say, practicing unconditinal love correctly,
I am not talkin about the way Hi-5 says to practice “Unconditional Love” in their late 90s
R & B jam. I am talkin about
an unconditional love that is not sexist, not racist, not classist, that isn’t afraid of gay marriage,
that sees beyond ego, that is in tune with the unviversal connection with us all.

Anyways…no , day but today, right?

One Response to “no day but today”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Serenity Now « Nogoodhollywood’s Blog - March 26, 2009

    […] So, I’m a huge film nut. I try to watch movies as often as possible, good and bad. I try to see as many new ones as I can too, but I’m sure anyone can relate when I say there are just certain films you go back to. I was reading my friend’s blog earlier today and in carrying from my last post, I noticed she used music to inspire her writing. She revisited the song “No day but today” from the film/musical Rent, and while I got her message, another switch flipped on as well. (Seriously though, check the post out. No Day but Today) […]

Leave a Reply

