checking in

11 Mar

So friends, it has been awhile since I have written. Like I said, March is the month of maddness and I am doing my best to keep sane. If you all wonder what I do besides try to stay motivated and find that creative place within (which sounds easy, but is actually difficult), let me shed a little light for you into my life.

Right now, I serve as the Trafficking Programs Coordinator for GABRIELA Network, Los Angeles (www.gabnet.org). I love GAB. Never could I have asked to work with a more talented and passionate group of women. For those of you who don’t know, GAB exists to empower women by engaging in various campaigns. One of these is the Purple Rose Campaign, which deals which the issue of human trafficking. I pretty much help to make sure that the grants we have get seen though. Part of my job is also to manage interns who help to complete grant projects.

 I LOVE THE GAB INTERNS. Welcome Jo Ann Paanio & Mutya Briones! These women are passionate and eager. Together we started blogs to document our GAB process. If you wanna find out more, go to www.purplerosereflections.wordpress.com. This is my blog regarding working on human trafficking issues. To find the intern blogs, just look to the right and find the link.

Hmmm, I also spend my part of my time helping to coordinate art shows at THE DEUCE (www.runthedeuce.com). The NEXT art show is on MARCH 20 ( & yes, that is next friday!). For all of you who wanna check out some dope community artists come through. The event starts at 7pm. Click in the link for the address. The flyer will be out in a day or two.

So, that is part of what occupies my day. But to keep sane, I just take deep breaths and know that all this maddness is only temporary. And actually, I am glad to live in this whirlwind right now. I feel alive and I couldn’t ask for more.

2 Responses to “checking in”

  1. freskocity March 17, 2009 at 1:03 am #

    It is good to hear that so much is being done in the community (from your art to the efforts of your interns). A beautiful whirlwind, no?

    • pinaysoul March 25, 2009 at 7:15 am #

      hey girl,

      how are u? yeah, i am excited for all the opportunities the universe has opened up for me. how are things for u?

Leave a Reply

